Layritz Sweeps Bantam Spring Championships

Layritz Park has captured both the GVBA Bantam A and Bantam AA Spring Championships following two exciting finals that took place on June 16th and 21st.   

In the Bantam AA final played on June 16th, Layritz who were visitors,  scored two runs in the top half of the first inning, only to see Duncan score two runs of their own in the bottom half. Jesse Simpson held Duncan to no more runs through the fourth inning and left the game with a 4-2 lead. Both teams pitched well and made some terrific defensive plays to keep runs at a premium for the offences.  A big two RBI hit by Andrew Baxter in the fifth inning gave some breathing room to Layritz who led 8-2 after five innings. Duncan never quit and scored two runs in the sixth inning to close the gap to 8-4. Jacob Potter pitched a 1-2-3 seventh inning as Ryan Christenson recorded the final out unassisted at first base and for the first time since 2009, Layritz is the Bantam AA champions of GVBA.

Bantam AA Champion Layritz

The Bantam A final which was played on June 21 following a rain out the previous night, featured Layritz 1 against Esquimalt.  Both teams had come through their respective pool undefeated. The final score was 3-2 in favour of the Layritz team. Both teams played well and should be proud of their accomplishments.

ayritz 1 – 2013 Bantam A Champions

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.