Mosquito AAA Black Eagles Capture Provincial Gold!

The Victoria Black Eagles Eagles captured the Mosquito AAA (11U) Provincial Championship in Cloverdale over the August long weekend, capping a season that saw the team go 18-7 over the past five weeks.  The win marks the first time in nine years that a Victoria team has won Provincial Gold at the Mosquito level (the Rebels were "A" champs in 2004) and the first time for Gold at the Mosquito  AAA level.    Composed of the top 2002-born players from the Greater Victoria Baseball Association, the team featured players from Carnarvon, Gordon Head, Triangle and Peninsula Baseball Associations.  The Eagles advanced through a tough division with opening day wins over Rutland (12-1) and Richmond (15-5), setting up a Day 2 showdown with powerhouses Ladner and Abbotsford.  

Victoria took a 4-2 lead over the Ladner Red Sox in the fifth inning, ensuring a trip to the medal round, but a later loss to the Abbotsford Angels meant the Eagles had to face top team Cloverdale in the first semi-final on Sunday. The Eagles scored early and took a two-run lead but the Spurs rallied to take a 4-2 advantage into the final frame. In an incredible seesaw battle, the Eagles took a 6-4 lead in the top on the sixth, but the Spurs once again countered with two of their own. On to extra innings, the Eagles scratched out a run with two out and this time the Spurs were retired, eliminating the hosts and putting the Eagles through to the final. Meeting the Abbotsford Angels one again in the final, this time the Eagles jumped out early, cruising behind solid pitching to a convincing 14-7 win and the gold medal. 

The Victoria Eagles AAA tier-1 11U team and their home associations are: Reid Thompson, Matt Sweeney, Aaron Finlay and Eric Luchies (Carnarvon); Dylan Brown, Jalen Seto, Jackson Yager and Coban Scott (Gordon Head); Kaleb Nantes, Jordan Bond, Jayden Cull and Cole Belton (Triangle); Ardan Berg (Peninsula). Coaches are: Ward Bond (Triangle), Glen Brown (Gordon Head), Dave Berg (Peninsula). 

This entry was posted in All Star Ball. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.